Everyday

Not Today Satan!

IMG_1129Ever have days when it feels like everything goes wrong from the moment your feet hit the floor? Sure, we all do. I’m guilty of letting days like these spoil my mood. I become and quick to snap, grouchy and impatient (okay, I’m impatient on good days too – I know you’re thinking it Jonathan). The fact is, we not only have days like this, we have seasons of life that seem like Satan is beating us down. Sometimes when it feels like our life has hit rock bottom, Satan rips the floor out from under us and we continue to fall. But the good news is, I’ve found a solution – and it’s just three words.

That’s right – three little words that can knock evil flat on its butt.

“NOT TODAY SATAN.”

I started using this phrase as more of a joke truthfully. A co-worker and I would say it to each other when things weren’t going our way. Then it became something we said every morning, almost as a greeting. Then we started to really declare it. We started claiming those words and, even better, we started letting God claim those words. And we all know that when we let Got claim stake in our lives, we better hold on because He will take it and run. And that’s just what He did.

When I oversleep and I’m running late –  Not today Satan. When I’m dealing with a really frustrating guest at work – Not today Satan. When I get home and the house is a mess – Not today Satan. When I hear that another friend has been diagnosed with cancer – Not today Satan, not today.

The Bible tells us that Satan is subject to us through the name of Christ. James 4:7 says, “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”

I remember a particularly dark time in my family when my mom said she had started going through the house rebuking the devil. To be honest, it sounded a little silly to me at the time. But now I know the power of casting out Satan. This is something we don’t talk about in the church very often because people assume it will lead to an uncomfortable conversation about demonic possession and evil spirits. But Satan is sly and he’s lurking in our lives every day. All you have to do is confront him and he’ll run.

“NOT TODAY SATAN!” our Lord roars like a mighty lion. And Satan flees like a whipped dog with its tail between its legs.

Remember that “the thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly” (John 10:10). We can live the abundant God has for us if we intentionally cast out the thief.

NOT TODAY SATAN. NOT TODAY.

 

1 thought on “Not Today Satan!”

  1. Not today Satan!!!
    Thank you Sara great read. You are right the devil will try to sneak in when you least expect it. You are such a beautiful person.😊💗

    Like

Leave a Reply

