Everyday

To my daughter…

Shortly after I found out I was pregnant, stumbled upon a piece by Sydney Davis called, Why I Will Teach My Daughter Not to Wait. I was so moved by her words. It inspired me to write a letter to my little wildflower. I’ve spent weeks putting these words together for her, in hopes that one day she’ll read them and know her worth, and just how loved she was even before we met her.

IMG_1551

My daughter –

My beautiful, fearless, kind, strong, roundhouse-kick-to-the-face-of-conformity daughter.

First – I want you to know that the love I have for you has been measured out from before you were even conceived. Since the first thought of you I haven’t even began to comprehend how it is possible that God loves you more than I do, but I know that He does. I want you to always know that too, and hold that love close to you all your days. Know without a shadow of a doubt, pretty girl, that the love held for you is so immense that it sits among the stars. The very love that breathed the stars into existence so that you might one day wish upon them, is the same love that holds you carefully and tenderly, nestled in the hands of an Almighty Creator. That, paired with the love your daddy and I have for you, will be more than enough to get you through anything.

Also, I want you to know that there is nothing you could do that would make me love you less. Nothing. 

There are so many lessons that I can’t put into words for you. You’re going to have to live them. But, I want you to know that life will swoosh by and knock the wind out of you time and time again. And when it does, do this; From that pit that life pushes you into, look up. Look at me, look at your daddy, brush off your knees, and keep going. Because if your momma could do it, then so can you, a thousand times over. And just like the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shore no matter how many times it’s sent away, I will never refuse to stop kissing the bruises that life gives you, despite how many times I’ve told you so.

Live by this rule: Create something new every day. Whether it’s a recipe, a paper bird, or a giant painted masterpiece. Create. Write. Examine. Observe. And when the world around you is ugly and cruel, find the beauty. It’s there. Even if you have to create it.

Never apologize for the way your eyes shine. Never say you’re sorry for reaching too far, for reading too much, for daydreaming, for smiling in the midst of disaster, for singing too loud, for being proud of yourself, or for loving the way you look in the mirror. Never for a second regret or apologize for doing what makes your heart feel that special buzz. When you first feel that feeling, that buzz, take hold of it. Hold on tight, and let it take you places.

Don’t view concerts and the grand canyon through a screen – Live it. Don’t hide your curves – Own them. Don’t wait for someone to come along and wake you up – Open your eyes. Don’t be of the world – Be in it.

Never hide your true self. It’s your laugh, your love and your grace that bring out your beauty. Not the clothes on your back or the makeup on your face. Your curves, your freckles, your lumps and bumps (because we all have them), they do not define you. These things are just part of what make you, you. Take some pride in the fact that there is no one alive that is youer than you, cool girl.

Lastly – Always talk to me. I promise to always keep the conversation open. Boys, fights, love, worries, dreams – share them with me. I’ll never tire of seeing the way your eyes light up when you talk about your adventures, and I’ll always be there for you when the world tries to put out that light. Baby girl, my fire has been put out and reignited more times than I can count. Just know I’ll always be here with a box of matches, just like my momma was for me.

 

 

 

1 thought on “To my daughter…”

Leave a Reply

